Lactic peel milder than glycolic? Advice?
Page 1 of 3 1 2 Last

Thread: Lactic peel milder than glycolic? Advice?

Lactic peel milder than glycolic? Advice?

So I'm new to chemical peels and I ordered a 30% glycolic peel kit as my first at home peel. Following as directed. My skin didn't tolerate this very well. It left me very irritated, red and peeling for a week every time. Since then I purchased a 10% glycolic gel which is to be left on. My skin does tolerate this well with no complaint.
    Do u think lactic acid peels may be worth a look in this case?

2. Remove Advertisements
    SkinCareTalk.com
    Advertisements

Well, clearly 30% is higher than 10%, so this is one reason why your skin is probably able to handle it. But also, a Glycolic peel shouldn't "peel" your skin. It will exfoliate it but not peel it. Flaking at the most..........

If your peel was 30% what was the other 70%??

Lactic Acid is milder than Glycolic Acid
    -Our attitude toward life determines life's attitude towards us-

I stay with the 10% Glycolic if your skin is tolerating it well, 30% was way too strong.
    I use Reviva Labs Glycolic Acid Cream, the more I use it more it stings but it's really smoothing my skin with no
    visible peeling.
    TRUTH is generally the best vindication against slander Abraham Lincoln

5. Remove Advertisements
    SkinCareTalk.com
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by gymrat View Post
    Well, clearly 30% is higher than 10%, so this is one reason why your skin is probably able to handle it. But also, a Glycolic peel shouldn't "peel" your skin. It will exfoliate it but not peel it. Flaking at the most..........

If your peel was 30% what was the other 70%??

Lactic Acid is milder than Glycolic Acid
    H

Hi Gymie! I need some advice. I'm scheduled for an at home peel and the lady will use 40% salycilic. I've used carotein gel and am asking her to use a lower strength of glycolic acid. Since I'm new to this can you advice? Thank u