Skin Care Talk banner

Devices

27K views 72 replies 19 participants last post by  gymrat 
#1 ·
Can someone set me straight on this? What are the differences between all these devices? What benefits are derived from each? Why would we get one over the others? I think I've listed them in order of low to high frequency, right?

Radio frequency (TriPollar)
Red/amber/far infrared (Baby Quasar)
Laser (PaloVia and ReAura)

#2 ·
I'm no scientist or derm so I can't answer all your questions but I'll try.

They all do the same thing which is to increase collagen production in the dermis but they use different mechanisms e.g. infrared, radio frequency or laser.

Led is good for enlarged pores, acne, wrinkles and complexion

RF is good for skin tightening and fat burning because it heats up the skin like thermage but from experience, doesn't do much for enlarged pores

I haven't got the Palovia yet so I don't know but I think its more for wrinkles

#3 ·
LED (light emitting diodes) does seem to have some studies to back it up, altho some of the links are only articles by ppl like Dr Mercola and links to Clinics or references to IPL which is Intense Pulsed Light, not LED:
LED Skin Treatment Reviews and Information

Im using AALS (Anti-Ageing LightStim) and like it so far. BabyQ I got bored with cuz the head was so small and treatments took forever.

#4 ·
"What is the difference between Cold Laser Light Therapy and LED Light Therapy?

Many companies who sell LED Light Therapy equipment will call their equipment Cold Laser Light Therapy. Simply referring to LED Light Therapy as Cold Laser is actually quite misleading and technically not the correct terminology. Let us explain why this is incorrect as simply as possible.