Willow Bark Toner Question, please help

Thread: Willow Bark Toner Question, please help

Willow Bark Toner Question, please help

I desperately want to make a willow bark toner, but I am very new to diy skin care and I am stuck ...

I want to order willow bark extract from Lotion Crafter that is standardized to 10% Salicylic Acid. The recommended usage level is 2.5-5%, so I will need to dilute it. Someone suggested that I use witch hazel for this and it sounds like a good idea to me. I would love to just use two ingredients to make my toner.

What I'm having trouble with is understanding how to get the correct pH. Will I need to buy testing strips to make sure it's as close to 5.5 as possible? Or is there a recipe/formula I can follow to get a pH that is close enough? Lotion Crafter says the extract pH (as supplied) 4.0 - 6.5, but I assume that adding the witch hazel will change this.

Can anyone help?

2. Remove Advertisements
    SkinCareTalk.com
    Advertisements

Your pH should not change. It should remain as supplied. I have this exact ingredient. Willow Bark is water soluble. So follow the usage rate and add Wtich Hazel just as you would distilled water. I recommend using an alcohol free witch hazel
    -Our attitude toward life determines life's attitude towards us-

Thanks so much for the reply and answer to my question, gymrat ... My sister introduced me to Thayers Alcohol-Free Rose Petal Witch Hazel and that's what I plan to use. Love that stuff!

So happy to hear that I shouldn't have to worry about the pH ... Is there a quick way to explain why it won't change? I am so new at this and I want to learn and everything I can! It's been surprisingly hard to find info on the Internet - or maybe I just haven't been looking in the right places. One site online that sells willow bark extract (The Herbarie) recommends the use of a pH meter when formulating to ensure correct pH. Are they just being overly cautious?

5. Remove Advertisements
    SkinCareTalk.com