Skin Care Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
sry, that title was total lie. I'm not equipped to give advice, I just did a lot of reading on this site, and am putting everything I learned in one post. I have no experience. If this is dumb/redundant just let me know, I'll delete it.

So, skin lightening.
Sepiwhite (abbreviated on these forums as SW) - newer lightening product. does not contain hydroquinone. said to work synergistically with HQ, RA, Arubtin (AB), and Kojic (KJ); that means you can mix them with other lightening products. Fair & Flawless uses sepiwhite.

HQ - hydroquinone. use 4%. had controversy for connections with cancer but this is mostly media hype

Retin-A (RA) - start with 0.025%, move up to 0.1%. there might be flaking. dermatologist recommended to use this together with HQ 4% for skin lightening.

mono - shouldn't use higher than 20%. may have to use continually or you'll start to get pigmentation back.

Porcelana Fade Cream - may not lighten your skin much but it should keep you looking good.

Fair & Flawless - they sell good products, but they are expensive (you don't have to spend like $80 for a 4 oz. jar of whatever)
You can make your own batches of stuff, there are recipes online (makingcosmetics[dot]com and other places)

Where to order stuff: (We're not supposed to advertise on these forums)
use alldaychemist[dot]com. (abbreviated as ADC)

tips:
- stock up on materials, keep a stash. helps against shipping delays, and can save on shipping
- use highest SPF sunscreen
- don't be desperate, be patient. desperation can lead to bad choices and consequences (if 20% is good, that doesn't mean 70% is better).
- people's skin is different. what works for you may not work the same for someone else.
- mainstream products tend to inflate their claims. be (very) skeptical.
- also, if you try stuff, come back and share your experiences.