Skin Care Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, Greetings from Hampshire UK. This is my first posting.
I've had three IPL laser treatments for thread veins and pigmentation and have been pleased with the results. Yesterday I had my fourth treatment and the therapist used the lifting treatment after she had done the remainding thread veins and pigmentation patches. It stung a lot more and felt very hot. This morning I have a large blister on my cheek that looks like a water filled blister. I have contacted the clinic and have been told not to pop it and that it will go away within a day or so and won't scar. I wondered if anybody else has experienced this and also what the general opinion was of IPL?
Thank you

·
Banned
33,050 Posts
Justina,
I am so sorry to hear about this! What has happened to the blister now? And what did the clinic do about it? It doesn't sound like a normal occurrence to me. I have no knowledge of IPL but it seems like there is not much training involved.
I hope it all goes away without a problem for you. I would definitely let the medical director of the clinic know about it and have it documented and photographed in case some scarring does occur!
best wishes!

Skin | care | talk

·
Administrator
33,798 Posts
Wow, and welcome-

I have had a few laser treatments myself, I can honestly say this NEVER happened to me. The only thing I had after my treatments was redness, that lasted less than an hour. I am sorry to hear of your experience, and I hope the clinic you went to takes full responsibility. I am assuming if you blistered it is because they didn't move the wand quick enough and it burnt your skin. But this is just my own opinion.

I would also recommend trying to see what type of machince (brand) watts used, etc and contact the maker. That way you can make a formal complaint.