Skin Care Talk banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, I've been using Retin-A at .05 for wrinkles, along with a Vit C serum and have seen good results (I've been using it for about 8 months now).

I went to a new derm and he gave me a perscription for Differin cream 1%. Has anyone tried the Differin for wrinkles and if so what was your experience? Did you like it better/worse than Retin A.

Thanks.......I'm a bit nervous about switching

·
Registered
1,620 Posts
Hi--I tried it years ago because my ex-husband had it for acne. I was in my early 20's and barely had a wrinkle but yes it did tighten things but not for as long as I find retin-a does. I use retin-a now and it is much harsher but more effective for me. Do not worry about trying it, it is a synthetic retinoid and is supposedly equivalent to retin-a .025% The good thing about differin I found was much less sun-sensitivity. I cannot even be in direct sunlight with 50+ block on now without getting red on the .1% retin-a.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Lexi

I thought it would be stronger than the .5 retina a, that's why I was afraid to try it.......but now you've got me wondering if I should just stay with my retin a

·
Registered
1,620 Posts
Thanks Buffy I just read up on it, it seems interesting but I would not switch over to it from a retinoid as they remain the only clinically proven ways to change the actual function of the skin and reverse aging. This seems really interesting though perhaps in addition and also just a neat product!

Remywill--I would personally do differing if I felt that I liked my skin "as is" for maintenance. I probably will switch to it at some point but have a lot of retin-a from a big order so need to just run out first!

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·