Skin Care Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm hoping you can help a Retinol newbie here.
I think I'm suffering from an adverse reaction to Neutrogena Ageless Intensives line of creams, but I'm not sure because everything you hear about Retinols tells you that itchy, flaky, peeling skin is normal for the first few days. So I'm not sure if what I'm seeing is a normal reaction, and I should "power through it" to get to the point my skin looks dewy and wonderful, or if I should halt right now and stop using the creams.

Let me tell you what happened: being the beauty cream junkie that I am, I purchased the whole line up of Neutrogena Ageless Intensives creams about 1 and a 1/2 weeks ago (eye cream, serum, night cream and day cream which has SPF20 in it). Because no one told me to start using Retinols slowly, and build up to daily use, I started using it all at once - eye cream, serum and night cream at night; and then eye cream, serum and day cream during the day. Sometimes when I would shower in the middle of the day after a workout, I would put the cream regimen back on again (so I would end up applying it more than once a day).

At first it felt great, but after about 3-4 days, it started stinging and burning everytime I put it on. Again, because I didn't know any better (and because the package said that some stinging and redness was normal) I continued.

That was about 1 and a 1/2 weeks ago. And you can guess what happened. Fast forward to today and I have itchy, patchy flaking skin that's very sensitive to the touch. The red areas now are turning brown, and it looks like I have a sunburn over 3/4 of my face (everywhere but my nose, chin and forehead).