Skin Care Talk banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I'm new here but I've been lurking SCT for a few years now.

Back story: I used to be very light skin when I was a child even as a teenager.

But as I got older, I started getting really dark.

I'm a bit new to bleaching/ toning my skin. I started using diva maxima and over the years, that left deep stretch marks on my chest, arms, hips and waist. I stopped using the creme for almost 5 years and I go extremely dark .

Fast forward to 2019, I read on SCT about someone's success story using Carol white lotion and soap and I tried it. For the first time in ages, my skin was radiating. I had a very clear skin, not the obvious bleaching type. I maintained it and regularly wear sun screen.

But then I realized, carowhite isn't working on my skin again. I live in a tropical country and the sun is scorching. Now my skin is just dull red and getting darker and drier

I'm contemplating whether to take a break from carowhite but I'm afraid to go back darker than normal.

Please can someone help recommend something for me? It could be a routine or products to try. Thanks all, I appreciate your feedbacks.

·
Registered
1,604 Posts
Hello! Yes that tends to happen when using HQ - when used for very long the skin becomes "immune" to it. The way I use it (when I do) is to apply it for a short duration - in my case being a maximum of 3-4 months (when I go beyond this my skin doesn't lighten and instead starts to darken). After I achieve my desired tone I slowly switch to a maintenance regimen with KA and AHAs, while slowly tapering down the hq. Eg if I was using the hq 5 days a week, I'd make it 3 times HQ and 2 times KA for maintenance on the first week - then the next week I'd taper it down to 2 times hQ and 3 times KA and so forth.