Skin Care Talk banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
412 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been jogging 4-5 miles for about 9 months now. Maybe 3-4 times a week MAX. Sometimes my knees ache at night or while jogging- not always. I am maybe 8-10 pounds overweight, if that. Why does this happen? Is this going to prevent me from doing this regularly or from going farther? Anyone have any advice?
Freddy?

·
Registered
49 Posts
I can offer some completely NON-expert advice- based on personal experience with funky knees, advice from a great trainer, and one visit to a knee doc...

Knee pain is very common with all types of exercise- but especially jogging. You may just need to ice your knees after running, take some ibuprofen, or make sure your shoes are supportive and in good shape.

Still, you are right to take it seriously- because it could be something more serious that could lead to damage of the joints. Jogging outside on hard pavement or uneven surfaces will be hard on anyone's knees. If you are on a treadmill- then you might have something more to deal with.

Look into your hip-knee-ankle alignment-
-Do you stand with your toes turned out or in?
-When you stand with feet parallel and bend your knees- do they go straight over second and third toes?

Problems with the hip-knee-ankle joints are often caused by foot issues. Over-pronation
and under-pronation are the big ones- and it is usually knee pain that first brings it to peoples attention.

Look up hip-ankle-knee, over-pronation, and under-pronation to see some illustrations and decide if this might fit you. If you thinks so- I can tell you the things I did to correct mine... it could very well be something simple.

·
Registered
4,304 Posts
How old are you if you dont mind me asking?
Do you take Glucosamine?
Consider adding a mini trampoline to your routine. Much less stress on the joints
and a really great aerobic work-out. Jog in place.....jog with kneees high.......