Skin Care Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I am brand new to this site. I am a Certified Registered Nurse First Assistant. What that means is that I am a Registered Nurse who has gone into an advanced educational program and I assist in surgical procedures in the Operating Room. This role was traditionally filled by doctors. I work predominantly with Neuro Surgeons, General Surgeons and Plastic Reconstructive Surgeons with a bit of Orthopedics thrown in.
I am always looking for skin care programs or products that are based and backed with scientific research and clinical trials to prove their efficacy.
If anyone knows of an awesome skin care line "out there" that has been designed for aging skin (I am 54 and have spent a lot of time in the sun being active--(running, cycling, waterskiing, snowskiing, vacationing in Hawaii etc...) I am very interested in knowing about it. I have tried Obagi, and Bio-Medic (of course) as those are lines that are sold by the Plastic surgeons that I work with. I was not all that impressed with them. I want something with a lot of punch...Has anyone tried the Nia line? 3 Lab? Thanks...

·
Registered
58 Posts
Hi Benny, I'm a nurse, too. I'm 65 yrs old and spent too much time in the sun. Most of the people on this site promote DIY acid peels, vitamin C, and a few other products. Most of which is a lot less expensive than we can buy in the cosmetic surgeons office. Anyway, welcome, I'm sure you'll get a lot of opinions and good ideas.

·
Registered
713 Posts
Welcome Benny....I love Retin A and DIY Vitamin C Serum, check out the anti-aging forum there are great recipes for DIY and for sources for Retin A, have fun!!

·
Registered
3,721 Posts
Hi and welcome to the site! Nursemarie is right! A lot of the people on this site mix their own Vitamine C, use peels etc...... But the information you get on this site, is outstanding!

·
Registered
290 Posts
Welcome Benny.