Skin Care Talk banner

1 - 20 of 89 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I'm going to do a TCA peel on my knees and elbows and I have read the instructions and I'm ready to do it! But because I think the members here are smarter than dermatologists... I just wanted to know if anyone had any tips, suggestions, thoughts on some things I may need to keep in mind during this process...? I've never done a TCA peel before. I've put retinA and HQ on there before, but I stopped applying it about a week ago for the peel...

Thanks!!

·
Registered
1,620 Posts
Well I have done some peeling now and have spoken to surgeons (plastics) who do this regularly. They say that strength is less important than is frosting, a necessity for a good peel. Clean the area thoroughly, degrease, even use rubbing alcohol if you can first. Try and exfoliate as much as possible before hand. The TCA is self-limiting, even if it hurts and is white and frosting, that does not mean time is up. If you have areas that are NOT frosting, add a layer, that is thicker skin. It will sting and burn and my first times I have panicked thinking I was getting acid burns/scars. but in reality until it reaches the papillary dermis it is not really a deep peel. You take it off too soon and all you have done is a painful, scarier glycolic peel.

·
Registered
1,098 Posts